Student Finn Winkler wins at CPOY.

The traditional competition is one of the best-known awards for photography students worldwide. Finn Winkler wins in the Multimedia category.

Student Finn Winkler was awarded this year’s College Photographer of the Year Competition in Multimedia: Group Story or Essay. He made the seven-minute documentary “The Long Ride” with the Finnish multimedia journalist Juha-Pekka Huotari. In it, the two follow Henrik Weile, a former artist. Henrik lost his wife in a tragic motorcycle accident twenty years ago and has suffered from post-traumatic stress disorder ever since. Henrik now lives in seclusion on the Danish island of Langeland and runs a rarely visited café in the forest. Finn Winkler met Henrik last fall during another research project on Langland. Juha-Pekka and Finn made the film during a semester abroad at the Danish School for Media and Journalism, a partner school of Hannover University of Applied Sciences and Arts.

The jury member Guy Wathen, who has won five Emmys, explained his decision: “Everything about it felt like it had been made with care. From the colouring to the non-linear editing, I felt like the filmmakers knew what direction they wanted to go from start to finish.”

Finn Winkler was born in Munich in 1997 and studied photography in Munich, Hannover, and Aarhus. He interned at the F.A.Z. during his studies and participated in the Munich Press Club’s mentoring program. He also works as a freelance photojournalist, video editor and web editor. His pictures have appeared in the Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung, Stern, NZZ and ZEITmagazin. Since his youth, he has worked as a childcare worker for cultural education projects such as “Spielstadt Mini München”. There, he passes on his enthusiasm for photography to children and young people.

The CPOY competition has been held annually since 1945. Photography students’ work from all over the world is honoured in several categories. In the past, numerous students from Hanover University of Applied Sciences and Arts have been honoured in the competition, including Emile Ducke, Hannes Jung and Laila Sieber. The former student and current lecturer Mario Wezel was named “College Photographer of the Year” in 2015.

Empfehlungen aus unserem Magazin:

Your contact partners will be happy to assist you with your personal concerns. However, due to the large number of enquiries, we ask you to first check our FAQ to see if your question may already have been answered.


Dean of Studies, Design and Media department

Hochschule Hannover
Faculty III – Media, Information and Design
Expo Plaza 2
D-30539 Hanover